Independent Review of Education – panel announced.

Education Minister, Michelle McIlveen has announced the independent panel which will undertake the review of education.
The five panel members are:  Chairperson Dr Keir Bloomer, Vice-Chairperson Sir Gerry Loughran, Marie Lindsay, Robin McLaughlin and Isabel Nisbet.
Michelle McIlveen said: “I am very pleased to announce the appointment of the Independent Panel who will take forward this important review of our education system.
“The NI Executive is in agreement that the education system, whilst having areas of excellence, faces many significant challenges. A non-political, non-sectoral and wholly independent review is an essential starting point for longer term reform, modernisation and transformation.
“This review is a wide-ranging and challenging assignment. I am confident that the panel has the breadth of expertise and experience to set out a vision for what a high quality, innovative and inclusive education system looks like in Northern Ireland in the 21st century.
“I encourage everyone to support the panel and wish them every success in their task.”
The Integrated Education Fund has called for a full and independent review of the education system from the outset, and welcomes this announcement. We look forward to engaging with the panel and providing whatever assistance they may require.