2019 Northern Ireland Local Elections

Local elections are scheduled to be held in Northern Ireland on Thursday 2 May 2019, contesting 462 seats in all.

2019 Northern Ireland Local ElectionsNorthern Ireland uses the Single Transferable Vote (STV) system to elect members of local councils and members of the Northern Ireland Assembly. Voters rank candidates in order of preference by marking 1, 2, 3 etc. to the names of candidates on a ballot paper and can rank as many or as few candidates as they like or just vote for one candidate. These are the second elections held on new boundaries, introduced in 2014.

The total number of candidates standing in these elections is 818, they are competing for 462 seats across Northern Ireland’s eleven councils.

The numbers of candidates for each of the main parties are as follows:
DUP 172
Sinn Fein 155
Ulster Unionists 117
Alliance 84
Green Party 26

Ahead of the 2019 Northern Ireland local elections on Thursday 2 May each party set out their policy positions. Click here to find links to the manifestos which we were able to get from party websites.

To find out who is standing in your council area, click the relevant link below.

Antrim and Newtownabbey District
Ards and North Down District

Armagh, Banbridge and Craigavon District
Belfast District
Causeway Coast and Glens District
Derry and Strabane District
Fermanagh and Omagh District
Lisburn and Castlereagh District
Mid and East Antrim District
Mid Ulster District
Newry, Mourne and Down District